Lukiye Asho (You Come Secretly)

213467_1
A Tagore (1861-1941) Painting

 

Content

Rabindra-Sangeet (Tagore Song): Lukiye Asho (You Come Secretly)

Composed: 14th Agrahayan, 1320 (28th Nov. 1913)

Category: Puja / Arupratan (Worship-Devotional Song / drama: Arupratan)

 

Bengali Lyrics:

 

লুকিয়ে আসো আঁধার রাতে

            তুমিই আমার বন্ধু,

লও যে টেনে কঠিন হাতে

            তুমি আমার আনন্দ।

দুঃখরথের তুমিই রথী

            তুমিই আমার বন্ধু,

তুমি সংকট তুমিই ক্ষতি

            তুমি আমার আনন্দ।

শত্রু আমারে কর গো জয়

            তুমিই আমার বন্ধু,

রুদ্র তুমি হে ভয়ের ভয়

            তুমি আমার আনন্দ।

বজ্র এসো হে বক্ষ চিরে

                তুমিই আমার বন্ধু,

মৃত্যু লও হে বাঁধন ছিঁড়ে

              তুমি আমার আনন্দ।

 

The Song in English Script:

 

Lukiye aasho aandhar raate,

  tumi aamar bandhu!

Law-o je tene kothin haate,

tumi aamar aananda

   Dukhyo-rather tumi-e rathee,

tumi-e aamar bandhu

  Tumi shankat tumi-e khyoti,

tumi aamar aanando

   Shatru aamarey karo go joy,

tumi-e aamar bandhu

  Rudra tumi he bhoyer bhoy,

tumi aamar aananda

   Bajro esho he bokhyo chire,

tum-ie aamar bandhu

  Mrityu law-o he bandhan chhinre,

tumi aamar aananda    

 

The Song in English Translation:

 

You come secretly in the dark night

My confidant,

You embrace with your rocky hands

My Bliss you are.

You are the charioteer of grief

My close one,

Are you the peril and loss itself…

Bliss you are to me.

I am Thy foe, win me over

My friend,

You are the Terrible, fear of fears

You are my Bliss.

Come my thunderbolt, be within me

My boon companion,

O death, snap all my bonds

My Bliss Thou Art.

 

Translated by Sumana Roy

 

The Song is Here sung by Suchitra Mitra

3 comments on “Lukiye Asho (You Come Secretly)

  1. Sometimes I feel exactly like this, and yet it is one deep dark confidant I am not ready to follow. The tunes haunt me. And I keep forgetting to mention the paintings which go way inside the mirror rather than stay on the surface. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank You :)

